top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVicky Gould

(9) Being the Bald Egglet - ramblings

Being mostly bald is still such a strange feeling. I'm still so glad my friend shaved away my hatchling floofies. That was the best feeling. Obviously I have never had my head shaved before, but it is the most relaxing, calming sensation. I wanted my head shaved forever and ever. 10/10 recommend. You will want to just curl up and fall asleep. I love it.


I wear hats most of the time, as bald heads seem to get super chilly. My beanie collection is immense! But unfortunately a beanie gets super toasty. Ali express and wish are hilarious entertainment to find ugly hats on. But thankfully I have a few nice ones! Over the weekend I was wearing my current favourite. It's slightly turban styled, with a little knot at the front. Reasonably normal looking, so I thought! And a man came up to me at our family dinner and asked if I'm currently going through cancer treatment. My attempts at being inconspicuous had failed. I'm sure I made the encounter as awkward as it could have been as well. He was very nice and meant well, and had gone through it all before. But I had zero clue how to react! Will have to find better hats..


Today I took my scarf off in a public place while I waited for a tasty chocolate milk drink (as coffee now tastes horrific - sadness). And my hat came off with it. Bugger. Maybe I could try velcro strips?


Yesterday I was released from my house arrest/resting time for a few hours to go and see my Demon Goat Horse, Louie Patooie. He was having the dentist come so I was glad I could watch this, and get some fresh air and sunshine! It was so nice seeing my friends and getting to see all of the ponies. His winter coat is coming through all soft and shiny, and he even let me have some vague cuddle time which was so nice. Mostly while he was sedated. But I'll count it.


I also wanted to say, I haven't been mentioning peoples names for a reason in my blogging. I hope no one is offended! There are so many wonderful people who have been so amazing in this journey so far. And I hope you know I love you all so much. If you have messaged me, come by the house, sent me a funny snap chat, popped by the hospital, or just been there to support me, I appreciate it all. And it has made everything so much easier. I know I'm not the easiest to get hold of for a meet up, I'm not allowed to get sick so have to be careful, but just knowing you guys are thinking of me is more than enough.


I'm so lucky to have such a great support system through my friends and family, as well as the community staff. This week I am going to go to a 'look good, feel better' class, which should be really good! These classes are for people going through cancer treatment and how it can cause changes to things like your skin, nails, face shape, hair etc. And you get a MAKEOVER. Which will be fun. I don't know the last time I had my make up done professionally.. maybe my 7th form ball! I'm excited for a morning to relax and be pampered - will be a nice feeling compared to feeling so yuck!


So those were some ramblings for today. And a photo of the Bald Egglet, complete with filter because I'm not quite that brave yet!






165 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Reijer Edward Tuite

I never thought I would need to use this blog again. But I so desperately need to get some words out. It has been one week since my son passed away. I don't even know if anyone will see this or read t

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page