top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVicky Gould

(7) Chemo: Round 2

Updated: Apr 28, 2019

Chemo round two was booked in for the 2nd of April. And bloods booked in for the day before. More needles! Was not getting any better at needles. Not at all.


My mum was back down to help for this round of chemo, which was so lovely. In we went to the hospital, and waited for sooo long for the appointment. I was having slight panics about my numbing cream wearing off and my first nausea drug being taken at the wrong time! An hour later I was finally in and having the chemo. And it hit me so hard this time. I felt disgusting. I'm not sure if it was pumped through me faster due to everyone being late, or my body was like 'nope I hate this pls stop', but It was just yuck.


I got home, took my sedation/sleepy/nausea magic drug, and was out to it. The next few days were awful. I had my white blood cell injection and my zoladex injection, and felt like I was just a barrel of poison. Just thinking about the chemo made me gag. I could taste the smell of it in my nose, every time I breathed in it was there. Mum had to pretty much force all my drugs and meals, I was not having a good time! And I was not looking forward to doing chemo again.


Thankfully by Saturday I was feeling less disgusting, and was able to go and see my lovely pony and friends, which always puts a smile on my face.


The next week I had my rescheduled appointment with my plastic surgeon. She went over a few options, but at the moment it looks like I will be having a mastectomy with some sort of matching reconstruction on the other side. Then I will have radiation for a few weeks, followed by more surgery to make sure everything is looking exactly how she wants it to. Hopefully she will also fix up my reasonably hideous port surgery scar, as she was horrified when she saw it!


The following week was a lot of recovery and rest. I tried to eat really well and have lots of good veggies and salads and water. Usually I drink so much water, but after chemo I really hate the taste of it. For chemo it is so important to stay hydrated, so this is something I have struggled with!

116 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Reijer Edward Tuite

I never thought I would need to use this blog again. But I so desperately need to get some words out. It has been one week since my son passed away. I don't even know if anyone will see this or read t

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page